Skip to Content
Defending Your Rights Against Criminal Charges
Free Consultation: 469-940-7544

How Much Does a DWI Cost in Texas?


Dealing with DWI charges can be quite expensive. Unfortunately, the majority of defendants are not prepared to handle the true cost of a DWI, especially first-time offenders. According to DWI Texas, a first-time offender can be fined up to $2,500. Sometimes the cost of a DWI can reach $15,000, $20,000, if not more. This is why you need to hire a DWI defense attorney as soon as possible. Continue reading to find out more about DWI costs.

Criminal Penalties

If you are convicted of a DWI, you may face some substantial criminal fines. The amount you pay depends on the circumstances of your case and whether you have been convicted before. Other factors that can add to the charges include the presence of aggravating factors and whether other people were hurt as a result of your reckless driving. In general first offenders can pay up to $2,000, while second offenders will usually pay up to $4,000. A third offense can attract a fine of up to $10,000, and driving under the influence with a child passenger will attract fines of up to $10,000 as well, which is what you may pay if intoxication, assault, or manslaughter are involved.

No More DWI Surcharges in Texas

Surcharges referred to extra amounts that you had to pay on top of the regular fines and penalties. These charges are now completely repealed. In the past, surcharges usually started at $3,000 and could reach as high as $6,000. If you fail to pay your surcharges, you will risk losing your license. Fortunately, they are no longer in effect. If you were recently hit with a surcharge, you can now get it removed from your record, and your driver’s license will be reinstated. However, you must also know that there are other fines that have replaced surcharges.

Extra Costs

The removal of surcharges doesn’t mean that DWIs are now being taken lightly. There are new financial implications that are now in place. For instance, for your first DWI offense, you will have to pay the regular fine, and you can also face a license suspension of three to 12 months. To keep your license, you can be made to pay an annual fee of up to $2000. The second offense will attract a license suspension of at least 12 months or a three-year annual fee of $2000. After committing three or more offenses, you can risk spending ten years in prison or the annual fee to retain your license.

Please keep in mind that the fines listed above are only minimums, not maximums. There are no chances of having reduced fines if you are found guilty. This is why you need to hire a DWI defense attorney as soon as possible to help with your DWI case. If you’re looking for a DWI defense attorney, get in touch with us today!

The post How Much Does a DWI Cost in Texas? appeared first on Ashley L. Anderson, Rockwall DWI Attorney.