What are the penalties for DWI in Texas?

Penalties for DWI in Texas vary based on number of offenses and type of offense.  This table contains general guidelines.

Contact Ashley to discuss your case today.

 

 Penalties for DWI in Texas:

Charge Offense Level Fine Jail Time License Suspension Annual Surcharge

DWI First Offense

with BAC < 0.15

Class B Misdemeanor Up to $2,000 72 hours to 180 days 90 to 365 days $1,000
for 3 years

DWI First Offense

with Open Container Enhancement

Class B Misdemeanor Up to $2,000 6 to 180 days 90 to 365 days $1,000
for 3 years

DWI First Offense

with BAC > 0.15

Class A Misdemeanor Up to $4,000 72 hours to 1 year 90 to 365 days $2,000
for 3 years
DWI Second Offense Class A Misdemeanor Up to $4,000 30 to 365 days 180 days to 2 years $1,500
for 3 years

DWI with

Child Passenger

under 15 years old

State Jail Felony Up to $10,000 6 months to 2 years in a State Jail Facility
DWI Third Offense 3rd Degree Felony Up to $10,000 2 to 10 years in TDCJ 180 days to 2 years $1,500
for 3 years
Intoxication Assault – DWI that Causes Serious Bodily Injury 3rd Degree Felony Up to $10,000 2 to 10 years in TDCJ 180 days to 2 years $1,000
for 3 years
Intoxication Manslaughter – DWI that Causes Death 2nd Degree Felony Up to $10,000 2 to 10 years in TDCJ 180 days to 2 years $1,000
for 3 years

 

Super helpful

“Ashley Anderson helped me get through a difficult time. Explained everything and took care it all.”

-Previous Client, September 2019, via Avvo.com