Felony DWI

Felony DWI

DWI 3rd or More, DWI with Child Passenger, Intoxication Assault, Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon, Intoxication Manslaughter

  • DWI 3rd or More

If you have been previously convicted of at least two DWI charges in the past, the District Attorney’s Office could enhance your case to a DWI 3rd or More. In Texas, DWI 3rd or More is a Third Degree Felony with a punishment range of 2 to 10 years in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice Institutional Division and up to a $10,000 fine. You may be eligible for probation, as well. If you have been convicted of more than three DWI charges previously, the District Attorney’s Office may seek to further enhance your case under certain circumstances. 

  • DWI with Child Passenger

In Texas, if you are investigated for driving while intoxicated and have a passenger in the car who is under the age of 15 years old, you can be charged with the offense of Driving While Intoxicated with a Child Passenger. Driving While Intoxicated with a Child Passenger is a State Jail Felony in the State of Texas and has a punishment range of 180 days up to 2 years in a State Jail Facility and up to a $10,000 fine. A person charged with Driving While Intoxicated with a Child Passenger may also be eligible for probation.

  • Intoxication Assault

Under Texas law, if a person is charged with Driving While Intoxicated and there is an accident resulting in serious bodily injury to someone involved, you can be charged with Intoxication Assault. Intoxication Assault is a Third Degree Felony with a punishment range from 2 years up to 10 years in a Texas Department of Criminal Justice Facility and up to a $10,000 fine. You may be eligible for probation, as well. If probation is granted, there are mandatory days in jail as a condition.

  • Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon

If you are investigated for Driving While Intoxicated involving an accident in which someone was injured, the District Attorney’s Office can charge you with Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon. Under these circumstances, the State of Texas alleges the vehicle you are driving is considered the “Deadly Weapon” and the assault becomes “Aggravated” by the fact that there is a “Deadly Weapon” even if the injuries to those involved are not serious in nature. In other words, a person can be charged with Aggravated Assault of a Deadly Weapon if they commit a regular assault while using or exhibiting a deadly weapon. Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon is a Second Degree Felony with a punishment range of 2 years up to 20 years in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice Institutional Division and up to a $10,000 fine. A person could also be eligible for deferred adjudication community supervision (a type of probation).   

  • Intoxication Manslaughter

Under Texas law, if you are investigated for Driving While Intoxicated and involved in an accident causing one or multiple people to pass away, you can be charged with the offense of Intoxication Manslaughter. Intoxication Manslaughter is a Second Degree Felony in the State of Texas with a punishment range of 2 years up to 20 years in the Texas Department of Criminal Division Institutional Division and up to a $10,000 fine. A person may be eligible for probation. If probation is granted, there are mandatory days in jail as a condition.

Ashley L. Anderson is experienced in all types of intoxication offenses. Contact Ashley today at 214-668-4670.

She is a winner

Ashley did an amazing job with my case. She knew what exactly what was going to happens through out the process and was very clear and direct. She is very personable and understanding. Ashely never once judge me or belittled me through the process. I hope I never have to go back to court, but if I did I would call Ashley.

-Previous Client, September 2018, via Avvo.com